Spiritual Formation Support List

InterVarsity Press author and spiritual director, Beth Booram, says that “Spiritual direction helps us integrate our splintered lives.”  Many on staff have found a spiritual director, or spiritual friend or a mentor to be instrumental in helping them become better at seeing and understanding how God shows up in their lives, as well as a critical resource for spiritual growth and discernment. In some regions, having such a person is part of a corporate rule of life.

A growing number of seasoned staff are available to accompany you in your spiritual journey. Below, and attached, you will find a list of staff and volunteers, who provide spiritual formation support for staff. If you are looking for a spiritual companion or have questions about what such a relationship could look like, please feel free to get in touch with someone on the list. Please note:

  • most individuals on the list offer their services free to InterVarsity staff, but not all
  • consult this list or download the file listed on the right if you would like further information regarding experience, including cross-cultural, and geographic area, etc.
  • many on the list provide more than one service. (You will need to sign in with your intervarsity.org account to access the list.)
  • You may need to contact several providers to make sure you get the right person for you. Don't be afraid to let them know if it's not working well for you. They may have other recommendations.

Spiritual Directors—those who are called and gifted in listening for the movements of God as they accompany you and listen to whatever seems important to you. All have been through a training program for spiritual direction.

Mentors—a wise person who knows stuff. These are folks you want in your life. They are able to show you a way out of your stuckness, can lead you through scripture to new understanding, pray with you, encourage and affirm you and help you gain skills you may need for ministry.

Spiritual Friends—those who are called and gifted in accompanying others on their spiritual journey. Some have training in spiritual direction, some in prayer ministry, some have prophetic gifts. All are seasoned, sought after and wise.

Pastoral Care—you may find yourself turning to a pastoral care giver during a difficult season, for a certain length of time rather than the ongoing nature of spiritual direction. Many have training in spiritual direction and/or prayer ministry. They will listen, pray with you, speak truth to you, etc. 

Spiritual Directors

 

Name Email
Alison Smith alison.smith@intervarsity.org
Andrea Thomas andrea.thomas@intervarsity.org
Bette Dickinson Bette.dickinson@intervarsity.org
Brenda Wong brenda.wong@intervarsity.org
Bruce Cooke bruce.cooke@intervarsity.org
Camille Banks palmerbanks@gmail.com
Carolyn Carney carolyn.carney@intervarsity.org
Carrie Bare carrie.bare@intervarsity.org
Charles Barker charles.barker@intervarsity.org
Cynthia Boline cynthia.boline@intervarsity.org
Dan Gonzaga dan.gonzaga@intervarsity.org
George Stulac george.stulac@intervarsity.org
Heather Fosth Heather.fosth@intervarsity.org
Heidi Kempt Chew Heidichew@intervarsity.org
Jamie Teague jamie.teague@intervarsity.org
Janet Balajthy janet.balajthy@intervarsity.org
Jason Philipose jason.philipose@intervarsity.org
Joanna Rice Thomas joanna@joannaricethomas.com
Joe Fick joe.fick@intervarsity.org
Joe Moore joe.moore@intervarsity.org
Jovin Adjeitey jovin.adjeitey@intervarsity.org
Judy Johnson judy.johnson@intervarsity.org
Laura Thiel laura.thiel@intervarsity.org
Marlene Cameron marlene.alvarezcameron@gmail.com
Matthew J Rogers mattrogers.ivcf@gmail.com
Nader Sahyouni xavier.sahyouni@intervarsity.org
Phil Ebersole phil.ebersole@intervarsity.org
Roger Anderson roger.anderson@intervarsity.org
Roy Inzunza roy.inzunza@gmail.com
Ruth Brown rbrown@ivcf.ca
Sandy Schaupp sandy.schaupp@gmail.com
Sarrah Lynne Havens sarrah.lynne.havens@intervarsity.org
Sherami Hinders sherami.hinders@intervarsity.org
Sherilyn Tengan sherilyn.tengan@intervarsity.org
Steven Stuckey sstuckeyivcf@gmail.com
Tammy Gonzaga tammy.gonzaga@intervarsity.org
Terry Fisher terry.fisher@intervarsity.org
Will Truesdell will.truesdell@intervarsity.org

Mentors

 

Name Email
Alice BrownCollins alice.brown.collins@intervarsity.org
Andrea Anderson andrea.anderson@intervarsity.org
Andrea Thomas andrea.thomas@intervarsity.org
Brenda Wong brenda.wong@intervarsity.org
Bruce Cooke bruce.cooke@intervarsity.org
Carolyn Carney carolyn.carney@intervarsity.org
Cynthia Boline cynthia.boline@intervarsity.org
Gary Cameron gary.cameron@intervarsity.org
George Stulac george.stulac@intervarsity.org
Heidi Kempt Chew Heidichew@intervarsity.org
Janet Balajthy janet.balajthy@intervarsity.org
Jason Philipose jason.philipose@intervarsity.org
Jessica Grahmann jessica.grahmann@intervarsity.org
Joe Fick joe.fick@intervarsity.org
Joe Moore joe.moore@intervarsity.org
Kathy TuanMacLean kathy.tuanmaclean@intervarsity.org
Kevin Bauder kevin.bauder@intervarsity.org
Marc Papai Marc.papai@intervarsity.org
Mary Beth Lundgren mary.beth.lundgren@intervarsity.org
Matthew J Rogers mattrogers.ivcf@gmail.com
Roger Anderson roger.anderson@intervarsity.org
Roy Inzunza roy.inzunza@gmail.com
Sandy Schaupp sandy.schaupp@gmail.com
Sarrah Lynne Havens sarrah.lynne.havens@intervarsity.org
Sherami Hinders sherami.hinders@intervarsity.org
Sherilyn Tengan sherilyn.tengan@intervarsity.org
Susan Park susan.park@intervarsity.org
Terry Fisher terry.fisher@intervarsity.org
Will Truesdell will.truesdell@intervarsity.org

 

Spiritual Friends

 

Name Email
Alice BrownCollins alice.brown.collins@intervarsity.org
Andrea Thomas andrea.thomas@intervarsity.org
Brenda Wong brenda.wong@intervarsity.org
Camille Banks palmerbanks@gmail.com
Carrie Bare carrie.bare@intervarsity.org
Dan Gonzaga dan.gonzaga@intervarsity.org
Gary Cameron gary.cameron@intervarsity.org
George Stulac george.stulac@intervarsity.org
Jason Philipose jason.philipose@intervarsity.org
Jessica Grahmann jessica.grahmann@intervarsity.org
Joe Moore joe.moore@intervarsity.org
Kevin Bauder kevin.bauder@intervarsity.org
Marc Papai Marc.papai@intervarsity.org
Marlene Cameron marlene.alvarezcameron@gmail.com
Matthew J Rogers mattrogers.ivcf@gmail.com
Peter Horton peter.horton@intervarsity.org
Roy Inzunza roy.inzunza@gmail.com
Sandy Schaupp sandy.schaupp@gmail.com
Sherami Hinders sherami.hinders@intervarsity.org
Steven Stuckey sstuckeyivcf@gmail.com
Terry Fisher terry.fisher@intervarsity.org
Will Truesdell will.truesdell@intervarsity.org

 

Pastoral Care

 

Name Email
Alice BrownCollins alice.brown.collins@intervarsity.org
Andrea Anderson andrea.anderson@intervarsity.org
Andrea Thomas andrea.thomas@intervarsity.org
Brenda Wong brenda.wong@intervarsity.org
Bruce Cooke bruce.cooke@intervarsity.org
Camille Banks palmerbanks@gmail.com
Carolyn Carney carolyn.carney@intervarsity.org
Carrie Bare carrie.bare@intervarsity.org
Gary Cameron gary.cameron@intervarsity.org
George Stulac george.stulac@intervarsity.org
Jamie Teague jamie.teague@intervarsity.org
Jason Philipose jason.philipose@intervarsity.org
Jessica Grahmann jessica.grahmann@intervarsity.org
Joe Fick joe.fick@intervarsity.org
Joe Moore joe.moore@intervarsity.org
Judy Johnson judy.johnson@intervarsity.org
Kathy McCready (414) 617-4823
Kathy TuanMacLean kathy.tuanmaclean@intervarsity.org
Kevin Bauder kevin.bauder@intervarsity.org
Laura Thiel laura.thiel@intervarsity.org
Marc Papai Marc.papai@intervarsity.org
Mary Beth Lundgren mary.beth.lundgren@intervarsity.org
Matthew J Rogers mattrogers.ivcf@gmail.com
Peter Horton peter.horton@intervarsity.org
Phil Ebersole phil.ebersole@intervarsity.org
Roger Anderson roger.anderson@intervarsity.org
Roy Inzunza roy.inzunza@gmail.com
Ruth Brown rbrown@ivcf.ca
Sandy Schaupp sandy.schaupp@gmail.com
Sherami Hinders sherami.hinders@intervarsity.org
Sherilyn Tengan sherilyn.tengan@intervarsity.org
Steven Stuckey sstuckeyivcf@gmail.com
Terry Fisher terry.fisher@intervarsity.org
Will Truesdell will.truesdell@intervarsity.org

 

Other Support

 

Name Service Email
Camille Banks Retreats of varied times and topics palmerbanks@gmail.com
Jessica Grahmann Training in spiritual disciplines like centering prayer, lectio divina, other prayer practices jessica.grahmann@intervarsity.org
Judy Johnson Transition help, often using assessments for personal and career development, integrating spiritual formation. judy.johnson@intervarsity.org
Lauren Markel Spiritual formation intercession soul care inner healing deliverance Lauren.markel@intervarsity.org
Roger Anderson Sabbatical preparation and implementation roger.anderson@intervarsity.org
Roy Inzunza music roy.inzunza@gmail.com
Ruth Brown teaching about prayer, leading retreats rbrown@ivcf.ca